see it clearly
Learn more

Are you interested in starting a coin collection and would like to know the list of state quarters? Since 2008, each state has a unique quarter that commemorates it. The front of each quarter is the same, but the back of each quarter differs state by state. Each design is unique and applicable to the state that it is honoring. So, what is the history behind these designs and what are some designs from the list of state quarters?

The Fifty Quarters Program

List of State Quarters

The Fifty Quarters Program was developed by the Citizens Commemorative Coin Advisory Committee, which was established in 1993. In 1995, the committee had the idea to create commemorative coins for each state in the form of a quarter.

The program was introduced to Congress in 1997 and was eventually passed by both the House and the Senate. President Bill Clinton signed the program into law on December 1, 1997. The first commemorative coin was released in 1999, and the state that it commemorated was Delaware. The last commemorative coin was released in 2008 for Hawaii. By the end of the program, almost thirty-five billion coins had been minted and released to the public.

According to the program, a new coin would be released every ten weeks during the year. This meant that five new quarters were released each year. The coins were released in the order that states joined the United States of America. The unique design featured on the back of each state’s coin was chosen by the state government and, in most cases, was created by a citizen of that state.

What Are Some of the Designs for the List of State Quarters?

As stated above, each quarter has a different design on the back. Some highlights include:

  • The Delaware coin has an engraving of Caesar Rodney on horseback, and the caption is “The First State.”
  • The Pennsylvania coin has the Commonwealth statue, an outline of the state, and a keystroke along with the caption “Virtue, Liberty, and Independence.”
  • The New Jersey coin has an engraving of Washington crossing the Delaware River, and the caption is “Crossroads of the Revolution.”
  • The Georgia coin has the state tree, a peach, and an outline of the state and the caption is the state motto.
  • The Kentucky coin shows thoroughbred horses behind a fence, a picture of Federal Hill, and the caption reads “My Old Kentucky Home.”
  • The Massachusetts coin has a picture of the Minuteman statue, an outline of the state, and the caption “The Bay State.”
  • The Maryland coin has a picture of the Maryland state house dome, the state tree, and the caption “The Old Line State.”
  • South Carolina has a picture of the state tree, the state bird, the state flower, and an outline of the state and with "The Palmetto State."
  • The New Hampshire coin has a picture of the Old Man of the Mountain along with nine stars. The caption reads either “Old Man of the Mountain” or “Love Free or Die.”
  • The Virginian coin has a picture of the three ships Susan Constant, Godspeed, and Discovery with the caption “Jamestown, 1607-2007.”
  • The New York coin has a picture of the Statue of Liberty, eleven stars, and a state outline that includes both the Hudson River and the Erie Canal. The New York caption reads the “Gateway to Freedom.”
  • The coin of North Carolina has an image of the Wright Flyer and a picture of the Wright brothers with the caption states “First Flight.”
  • The Rhode Island coin has a picture of America’s Cup yacht on the Narragansett Bay, and the Pell Bridge. The caption states “The Ocean State.”
  • The Vermont coin has maple trees and shows Camel’s Hump Mountain. The back of the coin states “Freedom and Unity.”