see it clearly

Armenian Coat of Arms

The current Armenian coat of arms, as of 2011, was adopted on April 19, 1992 by the Armenian Supreme Council. The Armenian Parliament passed it into law on June 15, 2006. Those interested in Armenian history have a great deal to learn about the symbolism of their coat of arms.

Armenian Coat of Arms

About the Armenian Coat of Arms

The largest things on the Armenian coat of arms are the two animals: a lion and an eagle. They were chosen because of their power, nobility, wisdom, patience, and bravery. The lion is supporting the shield on the right and the eagle supports it on the left. The lion was the symbol for the Bagratuni Dynasty and the eagle was the symbol for the Artaxiad Dynasty.

The Shield

The shield on the Armenian coat of arms is divided into four parts that denote the four kingdoms from Armenian history.

  1. In the upper left is the symbol (a lion and a cross) of the Bagratuni Dynasty, which ruled from the 7th to the 11th centuries.
  2. On the upper right is if symbol (two-headed eagle) of the Arsacid Dynasty, which ruled from the 1st century to 428.
  3. The lower left has the symbol (two eagles) of the Artaxiad Dynasty, which ruled in the 1st century BC.
  4. The lower right has a symbol (lion and a cross) of the Roubinian Dynasty, which ruled from the 12th and 13th centuries.

In the center of the shield is an escutcheon that has an image of Mount Ararat, which is supposedly where Noah's ark landed after the Great Flood.

Other Objects

There are some other objects at the bottom of the coat of arms.

  • A sword points upward and breaks a link in a chain. The sword represents power and strength and the broken chain shows the chains of oppression that were broken to gain freedom.
  • There is a bundle of wheat that shows the hard working people of Armenia and a feather pen that shows their heritage and intelligence. A tricolor ribbon at the bottom symbolizes the Armenian flag.

The Colors

Originally, the colors chosen for the Armenian flag were red, blue, and yellow, like the flag of the most recent dynasty, the Roubinian Dynasty. The yellow was changed to orange for color harmony. The red band at the top stands for blood, which was shed for many reasons throughout history, protecting their nation, their Christian faith, and the independence of Armenia. The blue represents striving for their country under the peaceful sky and the reflection in the waters of their lakes and rivers. The orange stands for golden wheat fields, the spirit of the people, and prosperity.

There is no official designation for colors of the coat of arms. In the coat of arms displayed in front of Parliament, the eagle and lion are gold and the sections of the shield are blue and red with gold symbols. Mount Ararat is silver on a background of orange and all five sections of the shield are outlined with silver. When the coat of arms is displayed at other places, sometimes the symbols are all silver.

Facts about Armenia

The Republic of Armenia is located between Eastern Europe and Western Asia. The northern and eastern borders connect to Georgia and Azerbaijan while Iran and Turkey hold the borders to the south and west. It is also bordered by the Caspian Sea and the Black Sea. The country is mostly mountainous with hot summers and cold winters. Its highest mountain is Mount Ararat and it is considered by most to be a symbol of their country. Armenia is 11,484 square miles in area.

Armenia was forcibly incorporated into the Soviet Union in 1920 but is now an emerging democracy after voting for independence in 1991. In spite of many hardships since 1991, the economy is growing steadily and the future looks good. Today, there are six million Armenians in the world; half are in Armenia and one million are in the United States.