see it clearly
Learn more

Celtic Love Knot Patterns

There are six major kinds of Celtic love knot patterns. All six are meant to represent true and eternal love. In this article you will find an explanation of each kind of love knot and the symbolism behind it.

Celtic Love Knot Patterns

Practically any Celtic knot could be used to represent love, if there are two strands that intertwine. This is true especially if the ends are joined so there is an unbroken loop. Many Celtic wedding rings show two continuous loops interwoven to signify the two lovers are inseparable from each other and have a bond that cannot be broken.

Following are the six basic kinds of Celtic love knot patterns.

  • Oval or Spiral - This one is the simplest knot and denotes the continuity of life and eternity. Its origins can be traced back to 2500 BC and was commonly made by the early Celts in Europe, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, and England. When finished, it looks like four teardrop shaped loops interwoven together.
  • Triple Drop - This is a three-sided knot that signifies the three forces of nature: earth, fire, and water. Since it is one continuous line, it shows strength, unity, and the wholeness of spirit and being. It uses three strands and they are intricately joined together into one.
  • Round - This is a very popular Celtic love knot pattern for tattoos. It was discovered in eastern Ireland on stone crosses. It has three distinct sections that symbolize the forces of nature: earth, fire, and water. The circle shape represents the orbit of the sun, which was revered by ancient Celts. Overall, it stands for the completeness of self.
  • Square - This knot denotes love and loyalty. Its origin is Scottish and it is one line that runs along all four sides. It is most often found on wedding rings to symbolize fidelity.
  • Four - This knot is looked upon as a symbol of good fortune. It looks like four circles interwoven with four half circles superimposed on them making overall leaf patterns. It is a very artistic looking pattern and embodies love and friendship between two people. The four basic circles represent the four seasons that are interdependent on each other. Lines on the outside denote love of two separate people who are bound together.
  • Serpent - This knot was taken from the Irish Book of Kells, also called the Book of Columba, which was a highly decorated religious text created by Celtic monks. This is by far the most intricate of the Celtic love knot patterns and represents the continuity of eternal life.

Other Celtic Knots

Now that you have an understanding about love knot patterns, you may want to look at some of the other Celtic knots. Some knots were used to ward off evil spirits and were used for protection. Others showed the inter-workings of nature like the circle of life, the four seasons, the three forces of nature, and the vastness of the universe. They also denote the love between people and the three parts of man: mind, body, and spirit.

The shield knot is also known as the four corners. They can represent the four seasons, the four elements of water, wind, earth, and fire, four gods, or the four corners of the earth. Any knot that consists of four corners is considered a shield knot. These were used to banish evil spirits and it was believed the more intricate the weave, the more powerful the knot. They were also used to summon the gods from the four corners of the world.

The Trinity knot is also named the Triquetra and is consists of three interwoven oval-shaped loop. It can have several meanings, like the Holy Trinity; the three parts of man: mind, body, and soul; the three regions of the earth: earth, sky, and water; or the triple goddess: maiden, mother, and crone.

Serch Bythol is a Celtic knot made up of two triskeles, which resemble three-cornered knots. Each triskele represents a person and his or her three parts: mind, body, and soul. Putting them together symbolizes everlasting love.