see it clearly

How Many Senators are There in Congress

"How many Senators are there in Congress" is a popular question for those just learning about the United States government.

How is the number of Senators Calculated?

How many Senators are there in Congress.

The answer to the question, "how many Senators are there in Congress" is simple to remember. Each state is eligible to have two Senators no matter what the population is. This is to ensure equal representation in the Upper Body of Congress, which is what the Senate is referred to occasionally.

How Many Senators are there in Congress?

The total number of Senators in Congress is 100, which is the 2 per state as required by Article 1 of the Constitution. A Senator with longer tenure is called the "Senior Senator" and the other is the "Junior Senator."

Elections happen at different intervals and may not be at the same time the representative's get elected. Senators serve six-year terms, but one-third of the Senate is elected at one time every two years.

If, for any reason, a seat goes vacant in the middle of a term, then that Senator's state's legislature votes on who to place into that empty spot until the official term is completed by the original Senator. In that case, a normal election ensues, as if that seat had not been vacant.

Senators have a couple of special powers that the House of Representatives don't have. The Senate must consent to treaties before they are ratified. The Senate must also consent and confirm Presidential appointments of the Cabinet, federal judges, military and federal uniformed officers. They may also hold the impeachment trials of federal officials.


The qualification to become Senator is a little stiffer than becoming a Representative. To be considered for election, a potential Senator must be:

  1. At least 30 years old.
  2. A citizen of the United States for the past nine years prior to the election year.
  3. A resident of the State they wish to represent when election occurs.

Other Information